The 20th Council of Regent took place at the 3rd Floor Board Room of the Ministry of Education with the participation of the Honourable Minister of Education Dr. Susil Premajayantha as the Ex-Officio Chairperson of the Council of Regents as per the Provisions stipulated in the National Centre for Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences Ordinance No .02 of 2005, (amended) Ordinance No. 03 of 2008 published by the Extra Ordinary Gazette 1567/6 dated 15th September 2008. The National Center for Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences (NCAS) was established in the year 2005 under the powers vested in the Section 24A with Section 18 of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978 with the object of encouraging and nurturing reflective thinking and innovative ideas, and to support research characterized by creativity and originality, at a national level and especially within the University System, in fields falling within the scope of Humanities and Social Sciences.
The Center has been established by late Professor Senake Dias Bandaranayake with his inception of promoting studies, new research and innovative projects under the particular stream of Humanities and Social Sciences covering a broader spectrum of studies to nurture the economy, socio-political awareness and enhancing the diverse cultural identity as a global need.
The Council of Regents has originally been Chaired by His/ Her Excellency the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, and Her Excellency President Chandrika Bandaranayake Kumaranatunga was the First Chairperson of the Council of Regents of the NCAS. Hon. Dr. Susil Premajayantha while accepting the formal invitation made by the Director Professor (Mrs.) Prashanthi Narangoda, went through the report and the presentation made by her and accepted her proposals to enhance and empower the quality, the work norms, and the capacities of the NCAS by introducing a College of Research Fellows, and a Distance Learning Division to introduce courses and programs to provide the services to the academia and the community, granted his support to carry on the novel implementations.
While Secretary of the Ministry of Education Mr. M.N. Ranasinghe presented representing the Ministry of Education, Senior Professor Chandana Udawatta, Vice Chairman, University Grants Commission, Professor Emeritus Lakshman Dissanayake, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo (UGC Nominee), Professor Sampath Punchihewa, Dean, Faculty of Law presented at the meeting physically, while Professor Sudarshana Bandara (UGC nominee), Professor Dushyanthi Rajasooriyar (UGC Nominee), Professor S. Raguram , Dean Faculty of Arts, University of Jaffna participated via Zoom. Dr. Sampath Chandrasena (IT Consultant), Mr. Kashyapa Ganegoda (Bursar-Acting), along with Ms. Thushanthinie Elencheliyapallavan (SAR) participated from office. The records were taken by the Senior Assistant Registrar and the PA/ Director, Ms. Prabodhini Jayarathne.